slo | eng

P74 Gallery

OHO Group Award 2015

15 May – 30 May 2015
P74 Gallery, Trg Prekomorskih brigad 1, Ljubljana
The 10th Anniversary of the OHO Award

Photo: Zavod P.A.R.A.S.I.T.E. Archive

The exhibition of the nominees for the OHO Award 2015 and the announcement of this year’s winner

You are kindly invited to attend the awards ceremony for the OHO Group Award 2015, the main national award for young visual artists (35 years and younger) at P74 Center and Gallery, Trg Prekomorskih brigad 1, 1000 Ljubljana on Friday, 15 May 2015 at 19h.

The nominees for the OHO Group Award 2015 are Tia Avsec, Boris Beja, Ana Legčević, Lenka Đorojević and Matej Stupica. The members of this year’s expert jury are Goran Trbuljak (visual artist, Zagreb); Alenka Gregorič (curator, City Art Gallery, Ljubljana); Nina Skumavc (art historian, P74 Gallery, Ljubljana).

The OHO Group Award 2015 winners are Lenka Đorojević and Matej Stupica.

OHO Award 2015 nominees

Tia Avsec (b. 1990) graduated from the Sculpture Department of the Academy of Fine Arts and Design of the University of Ljubljana, where she is also continuing her post-graduate studies. In her current projects she focuses on spatial installations that include stuffed animals and video. She is interested in how humans perceive animals and researches this through animal idioms, symbols and documentary films about animals. In 2014 she received the Prešeren Award for Students for her work.

Boris Beja (b. 1986) graduated from the University of Ljubljana’s Faculty of Natural Sciences and Engineering and the Academy of Fine Arts and Design (sculpture). He has had solo and group exhibitions throughout Slovenia (Maribor, Ribnica, Celje, Ravne na Koroškem, Novo mesto, Ljubljana) and also abroad (Berlin, Trieste). Since 2014, he is the assistant to the artistic director of Škuc Gallery.

Ana Legčević (b. 1984) is finishing her degree in painting at the Academy of Fine Arts and Design of the University of Ljubljana (ALUO UL). She works in the field of conceptual arts, installation and painting. Her work has been shown in the group exhibition Transform in Gallery Constantin Brancusi, Bucharest and in the exhibition Pravočasno (On Time) at Ljubljana’s Škuc Gallery. In 2014, she received the ALUO student award for the work “Štetje/kajenje” (Counting/smoking).

Lenka Đorojević (b. 1982) graduated from the Academy of Fine Arts in Trebinje, Bosnia and Herzegovina and furthered her education at the Salzburg International Summer Academy of Fine Arts. In 2013 she earned her Master’s degree from the Academy of Fine Arts and Design, University of Ljubljana (ALUO UL). She collaborates at home and abroad in solo or group projects, interventions and exhibitions. She is a co-founder of OFFTIR Association for Visual and Sound Art.
Matej Stupica (b. 1987) graduated from the Academy of Fine Arts and Design of the University of Ljubljana (ALUO UL) with a Bachelor degree in painting. He is an intermedia artist working in the field of visual arts and multimedia installations. As an illustrator, he regularly publishes his work in Objektiv, the Saturday supplement to the daily newspaper Dnevnik. For his work in visual arts he received the 2008 ALUO Award for Special Artistic Achievement and the 2011 Prešeren Award for Students in painting. He has participated in numerous group and solo exhibitions.

About the award

  • This year marks the tenth consecutive year that we have been awarding the OHO Award. It is intended for young visual artists who create in various media such as painting, sculpture, photography, installations, performance and new media. The award is bestowed to an individual and includes a 6-week residency in the US, a solo exhibition in Ljubljana and the purchase of the work.
  • The criteria for the award are the innovation and creativity expressed in an artistic work, created in the previous two years. The aim of the OHO Award is to support young artists and to actively assist in fostering recognition. With the award we wish to create a positive context for creativity and innovation as well as to shift young people from a marginalised social position to a more centralised one.
  • The award carries the name of the influential neo-avant-garde OHO Group, responsible for bringing the latest contemporary art trends to Slovenian culture through its breakthrough and innovative operation.
  • The award is a part of the wider international European network YVAA (Young Visual Artist Award), established in 2006. The network connects the producers and organisers of related awards that are given out for recent achievements in the field of contemporary visual arts.
  • The previous OHO Group Award winners include: Sašo Sedlaček, Luiza Margan and Miha Presker, Mladen Stropnik, Ana Čigon, Maja Hodošček, Beli Sladoled, Tomaž Furlan, Veli Silver, Staš Kleindienst.
  • The founder of the OHO Award is the P.A.R.A.S.I.T.E. Institute, Ljubljana, in close collaboration with the Foundation for Civil Society, New York and the Trust for Mutual Understanding, New York.

The main sponsors of the OHO Group Award are KD Group d.d. and AS – Adriatic Slovenica.

The programme of P.A.R.A.S.I.T.E. Institute is supported by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Slovenia and the Department for Culture of the Municipality of Ljubljana.
P.A.R.A.S.I.T.E. Institute is a member of ASOCIACIJA – Association of Arts and Culture NGOs and Freelancers.